ⓘ Roger Blandford

Roger Blandford

ⓘ Roger Blandford

Blandford is famous in the astrophysical community for the Blandford-Znajek process which is a model for the extraction of energy from a black hole. In April 2005 he wrote a letter to the astronomy community showing his concern about the George W. Bush administration US space science policy.

He is also the chair of Astro2010, the decadal survey that helps define and recommend funding priorities for U.S. astronomy research in the upcoming decade. The Astro2010 report was released August 13, 2010.


1. Positions

Blandford is a Fellow of the Royal Society, Member of the U.S. National Academy of Science, Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society and Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is currently Luke Blossom Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences at Stanford University, Professor of Physics at Stanford University and at Stanford Linear Accelerator Center SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. He was the Pehong and Adele Chen Director, Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology from 2003 to 2013.


2. Awards

  • Eddington Medal 1999
  • Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics 1998
  • Helen B. Warner Prize for Astronomy 1982
  • Humboldt Prize 2011
  • Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society 2013
  • Crafoord Prize 2016
  • The Blandford Znajek process is a mechanism for the extraction of energy from a rotating black hole, introduced by Roger Blandford and Roman Znajek in
  • Blandford entrepreneur born 1957 British entrepreneur Mark Harden Blandford 1826 - 1902 American soldier, attorney, politician and judge Roger Blandford
  • Blandford Forum ˈblænfərd BLAN - fərd commonly Blandford is a market town in the North Dorset district of Dorset, England, sited by the River Stour
  • The Blandford fly Simulium posticatum is a species of black flies, biting insects found in Europe, Turkey and western Siberia. It spends its larval
  • National Accelerator Laboratory, as well as on the main Stanford campus. Roger Blandford was the director from 2003 until 2013, and Steven Kahn was the initial
  • Blandford Press Lts.: 1953, 1983, ISBN 0 - 7137 - 1347 - X, p. 2408 - 249 MyFonts Speed and Grace of Excoffon s types Postage stamps by Roger Excoffon Roger Excoffon s
  • 1994 John N. Bahcall 1995 Jerry E. Nelson 1996 Roger A. Chevalier 1997 Scott D. Tremaine 1998 Roger Blandford 1999 Kenneth C. Freeman 2000 Frank Shu 2001
  • the Legislative Assembly of Upper Canada from 1839 to 1841. He lived in Blandford Township. Hunter was a lieutenant in the East Indian Artillery. He served
  • 1979 Arthur Davidsen 1980 Paul C. Joss 1981 William H. Press 1982 Roger Blandford 1983 Scott D. Tremaine 1984 Michael S. Turner 1985 Lennox L. Cowie
  • language Playwright award at the Wales Theatre Critics Awards 2014. Steven Blandford 2007 Film, drama and the break - up of Britain. Intellect Books. p. 171