ⓘ Golden Globe Award for Best Foreign Language Film


ⓘ Golden Globe Award for Best Foreign Language Film

The Golden Globe Award for Best Foreign Language Film is one of the awards presented at the Golden Globes, an American film awards ceremony.

Until 1986, it was known as the Golden Globe Award for Best Foreign Film, meaning that any non-American film could be honoured. In 1987, it was changed to Best Foreign Language Film, so that non-American English-language films are now considered for the Best Motion Picture awards. Additionally, this change makes American films primarily in another language eligible for this award, including winners like Letters from Iwo Jima and nominees Apocalypto, The Kite Runner, and In the Land of Blood and Honey.

Note that since the 1987 change in the criteria for this award, its eligibility criteria have been considerably broader than those for the Academy Award for Best International Feature Film known before 2020 as Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film}. American films have never been eligible for this award, and even non-U.S. films had to have principal dialogue in a native non-English language of the submitting country until 2006.

Before 1974, the award was given only infrequently, and with several films being jointly honoured per year.

The most honored country in this category is the United Kingdom, with seven films honored. The most honoured countries after 1987 are Spain and France.


1. Eligibility criteria

Like the Academy Award for Best International Feature Film, this award does not require that an eligible film be released in the United States. The official rules for the award state that submitted films must be at least 70 minutes in length and have at least 51% of their dialogue in a language other than English, and that they be "first released in their country of origin during the 14-months period from November 1 to December 31, prior to the Awards". Films that were not released in their country of origin due to censorship qualify with a one-week release in the U.S. during the specified period.

The Hollywood Foreign Press Association HFPA, presenter of the Golden Globes, also does not limit the number of submitted films from a given country. This differs from the practice of the Academy Awards presenter, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences AMPAS, which limits each country to one submission per year.

The two presenting organizations also differ slightly in their eligibility practices with respect to other awards. All foreign-language films, even those not submitted or not eligible for the Best International Feature Film Oscar, are eligible for all other Academy Awards as long as they are released in Los Angeles County, California during the award year. The HFPA, however, specifically makes foreign-language films ineligible for its two Best Picture Awards for live-action films Best Drama and Best Musical or Comedy.


2. Best Foreign-Language Foreign Film

  • 1960: Samuel Goldwyn Award: The Virgin Spring Jungfrukallan Sweden; The Truth La Verite France
  • 1957: Confessions of Felix Krull Bekenntnisse des Hochstaplers Felix Krull West Germany; Tizoc Mexico; Yellow Crow Kiiroi karasu Japan
  • 1956: Before Sundown Vor Sonnenuntergang West Germany; The Girl in Black To Koritsi me ta mavra Greece; Roses on the Arm Taiyo to bara Japan; War and Peace Italy; The White Reindeer Valkoinen Peura Finland
  • 1958: Girl and the River LEau vive France; The Road a Year Long Cesta duga godinu dana Yugoslavia; Rosemary Das Madchen Rosemarie West Germany
  • 1959: Die Brucke The Bridge West Germany; Black Orpheus Orfeu Negro Brazil/France; Odd Obsession Kagi Japan; Wild Strawberries Smultronstallet Sweden; Wir Wunderkinder West Germany
  • 1955: Ordet The Word; Denmark; Stella Greece; Sons, Mothers, and a General Kinder, Mutter und Ein General West Germany; Eyes of Children Japan; Dangerous Curves United Kingdom;
  • 1961: Two Women La ciociara Italy
  • 1954: Twenty-Four Eyes Nijushi no hitomi Japan; No Way Back Weg Ohne Umkehr West Germany; The Lady of the Camellias Argentina; Genevieve United Kingdom
  • 1949: The Bicycle Thieves Ladri di biciclette Italy
  • 1964: Matrimonio allitaliana Marriage Italian-Style Italy; Sallah Shabati Israel


  • The winner in each year is shown with a blue background.