ⓘ Josephine Abaijah


ⓘ Josephine Abaijah

Dame Josephine Abaijah, is a Papua New Guinean former politician. She was the first woman to be elected to the House of Assembly in 1972.


1. Biography

Born in Misima and one of 17 children, Abaijah began working in the Department of Public Health after leaving school, becoming a health education specialist. She also attended the University of London, where she obtained a diploma. She also played netball for the Papua New Guinea territory team, becoming vice-captain.

She contested the Central Provincial seat in the 1972 elections, becoming the first woman to win a seat in the House of Assembly, and only the second female legislator in Papua New Guinea after Doris Booth who had been an appointed member in the 1950s. Abaijah was the only woman elected at that time. After being elected, she founded and led the Papua Besena movement, which agitated unsuccessfully for Papua to become a separate independent country instead of being linked with New Guinea as Papua New Guinea.

She was re-elected in 1977 in the National Capital District Provincial constituency, but was defeated by Phillip Bouraga in the 1982 elections. She ran unsuccessfully again in 1987 and 1992.

Asked by the Pacific Journalism Review for her opinion as to why there were in 1995 no women in Papua New Guineas Parliament, she stated:

"I maintain that I will not give money to somebody to vote for me. So I think thats one big reason. The men can get money, the men can bribe. We are finding it very difficult for women to go around bribing people. I think this is where the country is going nowhere because there is a lot of bribes, there is a lot of corruption, something that women dont want in this country."

However, Abaijah returned to parliament after winning the Milne Bay Provincial seat in 1997, unseating Tim Neville. She lost the seat to Neville in the 2002 elections.

Her autobiography, A Thousand Coloured Dreams, was published in 1991.

  • Premier Term Tim Neville 1995 1997 Josephine Abaijah 1997 2000 Titus Philemon 2000 2002 Tim Neville 2002 2007 John Luke Crittin 2007 2012 Titus Philemon
  • Minister Sandra Pierantozzi 2009 Member of Parliament Dame Josephine Abaijah 1972 Cabinet Minister Nahau Rooney, as Minister for Justice
  • Member Electorate Province Josephine Abaijah Central Provincial Central Tei Abal Wabag Open Enga Gideon Apeng Huon Gulf Open Morobe Paulus Arek Ijivitari
  • Member Electorate Province Josephine Abaijah Nat. Capital District Provincial NCD Tei Abal Wabag Open Enga Tom Amaiu Kompiam Ambum Open Enga Caspar Anggua
  • Member Party Electorate Province Term in office Josephine Abaijah Independent Milne Bay Provincial Milne Bay 1977 1982, 1997 2002 Anderson Agiru Independent
  • service to the Papua New Guinea Defence Force. Civil Division Rowland Abaijah For services to civil aviation. James Baker. For public service. Chief

Users also searched: