ⓘ 55th Venice International Film Festival


ⓘ 55th Venice International Film Festival

The 55th annual Venice International Film Festival was held between 3 and 13 September 1998. The Golden Lion was awarded to Così ridevano by Gianni Amelio.


1. Jury

The following people comprised the 1998 jury:

  • Luis Sepulveda Chile
  • Ettore Scola Italy head of jury
  • Georges Benayoun Morocco short films head of jury
  • Hector Babenco Argentina
  • Abel Ferrara USA short films
  • Sharunas Bartas Lithuania
  • Kathryn Bigelow USA
  • Daniele Heymann France
  • Tilda Swinton UK
  • Chiara Caselli Italy short films
  • Reinhard Hauff Germany
  • Ismail Merchant India

2. Autonomous sections

Venice International Film Critics Week

The following feature films were selected to be screened as In Competition for this section:

  • Orphans by Peter Mullan United Kingdom
  • Ghodoua Nahrek by Mohamed Ben Smàil Tunisia
  • The Opposite of Sex by Don Roos United States
  • The Iron Heel of Oligarchy Zheleznaya pyata oligarkhii by Aleksandr Bashirov Russia
  • Beat by Amon Miyamoto Japan
  • La Mere Christian en. Mother Christian by Myriam Boyer France
  • The Scent of the Night Lodore della notte by Claudio Caligari Italy

3. Awards

  • Golden Lion
  • Così ridevano Gianni Amelio
  • Grand Special Jury Prize
  • Terminus Paradis Lucian Pintilie
  • Silver Lion
  • Crna macka, beli macor Emir Kusturica
  • Golden Osella
  • Best Cinematography: Luca Bigazzi Così ridevano
  • Best Score: Gerardo Gandini La Nube
  • Best Screenplay: Eric Rohmer Conte dautomne
  • Best Actor: Sean Penn Hurlyburly
  • Volpi Cup
  • Best Actress: Catherine Deneuve Place Vendome
  • The President of the Italian Senates Gold Medal
  • The Silence Mohsen Makhmalbaf
  • Lalbero delle pere Niccolo Senni
  • Marcello Mastroianni Award
  • Andrzej Wajda
  • Sophia Loren
  • Warren Beatty
  • Career Golden Lion
  • Best First Feature: Train of Life Radu Mihaileanu
  • Best Feature: Cabaret Balkan Goran Paskaljevic
  • FIPRESCI Prize
  • Lalbero delle pere Francesca Archibugi
  • OCIC Award
  • Lalbero delle pere Francesca Archibugi
  • UNICEF Award
  • UNESCO Award
  • Special Mention: La Nube Fernando Solanas
  • Colonel Bunker Kujtim Çashku
  • Best Actor: The Garden of Eden Kim Rossi Stuart
  • Pasinetti Award
  • Best Actress: Del perduto amore Giovanna Mezzogiorno
  • Michelangelo Antonioni
  • Pietro Bianchi Award
  • Orphans Peter Mullan
  • Isvema Award
  • Special Mention: Sto lavorando? Daniele Segre
  • Del perduto amore Michele Placido
  • FEDIC Award
  • Special Mention: Ospiti Matteo Garrone
  • Crna macka, beli macor Emir Kusturica
  • Little Golden Lion
  • Anicaflash Prize
  • Train of Life Radu Mihaileanu
  • Special Mention: New Rose Hotel Abel Ferrara
  • Trap, Trap, Little Trap Vera Chytilova
  • Elvira Notari Prize
  • Orphans Peter Mullan
  • Cult Network Italia Prize
  • New Rose Hotel Abel Ferrara
  • FilmCritica "Bastone Bianco" Award
  • Crna macka, beli macor Emir Kusturica
  • Laterna Magica Prize
  • Special Mention: The Silence Mohsen Makhmalbaf
  • Special Mention: Così ridevano Gianni Amelio
  • Special Mention: Autumn Tale Eric Rohmer
  • The Garden of Eden Alessandro DAlatri
  • Sergio Trasatti Award
  • Best First Film: Vivre au paradis Bourlem Guerdjou
  • Best Film on the Relationship Man-Nature: The Silence Mohsen Makhmalbaf
  • CinemAvvenire Award
  • Best Film: La Nube Fernando Solanas
  • IN-COMPETITION: Ospiti Matteo Garrone
  • Kodak Award
  • Orphans Peter Mullan
  • Orphans Peter Mullan
  • Prix Pierrot
  • Max Factor Award
  • Elizabeth Jenny Shircore