ⓘ 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards

62nd Primetime Emmy Awards

ⓘ 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards

The 62nd Primetime Emmy Awards, presented by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, were held on Sunday, August 29, 2010, at the Nokia Theatre in Downtown Los Angeles, California beginning at 5:00 p.m. PDT. Comedian and Late Night host Jimmy Fallon hosted the ceremony for the first time.

The ceremony honored the best in prime time television programming from June 1, 2009 until May 31, 2010. The HBO miniseries The Pacific won eight awards, the most for any program this year, including Outstanding Miniseries. ABCs freshman series Modern Family was the most honored comedy series of the year with six awards, including Outstanding Comedy Series. AMCs period piece drama Mad Men won four awards, including Outstanding Drama Series, its third consecutive victory in that category. The HBO film Temple Grandin won five major awards, tying the record for most major wins by a television film, set by Promise in 1987.

The ceremony was telecast live coast-to-coast in the United States by NBC, the first such broadcast since ABC did so for the 34th ceremony held in 1976. The ceremony was held before its usual mid-September date to avoid a conflict with NBC Sunday Night Football.

On August 21, 2010, the Creative Arts Emmy Awards were presented at the same venue. E! aired clips from the ceremony on August 28, the evening preceding the night of the primetime telecast.

The ceremony was received well by critics, with much praise going to the quality of the production, the voting trends and the entertainment factor. Jimmy Fallon received unanimous acclaim for his performance as the host, with some critics citing him as one of the greatest Emmy hosts in recent times.


1. Most major nominations

By network
  • AMC – 14
  • Fox – 11
  • HBO – 38
  • ABC / CBS / NBC – 16
By program
  • Glee Fox – 11
  • 30 Rock NBC / Mad Men AMC – 10
  • The Good Wife CBS / Lost ABC / Temple Grandin HBO / You Dont Know Jack HBO – 7
  • Modern Family ABC – 9
  • Saturday Night Live NBC – 6

2. Most major awards

By network
  • AMC / CBS – 4
  • ABC – 3
  • HBO – 8
  • Fox / Showtime – 2
By program
  • You Dont Know Jack HBO / Mad Men AMC – 2
  • Glee Fox / Modern Family ABC – 3
  • Temple Grandin HBO – 5

3. In Memoriam

The singer Jewel performed an original song called "The Shape of You" which would later be released on her 2015 album Picking Up the Pieces during the tribute:


4. Opening number

This Primetime Emmy telecast commenced with a cold open spoofing the musical drama series Glee. Host Jimmy Fallon convinces several Glee castmembers to "enlist" in a singing competition in order for them to earn money for tickets to the Emmy ceremony. Together they recruit several nominees and famous television personalities in and around the Nokia Theatre for help. They break out in song to Bruce Springsteens "Born to Run".

People who appeared in the opening segment/number:

  • Tina Fey
  • Kate Gosselin
  • Cory Monteith
  • Randy Jackson
  • Joel McHale
  • Tim Gunn
  • Jorge Garcia
  • Lea Michele
  • Betty White
  • Jimmy Fallon
  • Jane Lynch
  • Chris Colfer
  • Jon Hamm
  • Nina Dobrev
  • Amber Riley
  • This is a list of Primetime Emmy Awards ceremonies, the years which they were honoring, their hosts, and their ceremony dates. The following individuals
  • The Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actress in a Drama Series is an award presented annually by the Academy of Television Arts Sciences ATAS
  • series for the primetime network season. The award was first presented at the 6th Primetime Emmy Awards on February 11, 1954. The acting awards presented during
  • 77th Academy Awards 25th Golden Raspberry Awards 11th Screen Actors Guild Awards 56th Primetime Emmy Awards 57th Primetime Emmy Awards 58th British Academy
  • The 61st Primetime Emmy Awards were held on Sunday, September 20, 2009. CBS broadcast the Primetime event and E broadcast the Creative Arts event both
  • The Philo T. Farnsworth Award is one of the Primetime Engineering Emmy Awards given to honor companies and organizations that have significantly affected
  • not always genre, or even gender, specific. Beginning with the 22 nd Primetime Emmy Awards supporting actors in drama have competed alone. However, these
  • not always genre, or even gender, specific. Beginning with the 22 nd Primetime Emmy Awards supporting actors in comedy have competed alone. However, these
  • not always genre, or even gender, specific. Beginning with the 22 nd Primetime Emmy Awards supporting actresses in comedy have competed alone. However, these
  • awards like the other Guest awards were previously not presented at the Primetime Emmy Award ceremony, but rather at the Creative Arts Emmy Award

Users also searched:

61st primetime emmy awards,