ⓘ Crafoord Prize


Nils Alwall

Nils Alwall, a Swedish professor, was a pioneer in hemodialysis and the inventor of one of the first practical dialysis machines. Alwall pioneered the technique of ultrafiltration and introduced the principle of hemofiltration. Alwall is referred to as the "father of extracorporeal blood treatment."


Vladimir Arnold

Vladimir Igorevich Arnold was a Soviet and Russian mathematician. While he is best known for the Kolmogorov–Arnold–Moser theorem regarding the stability of integrable systems, he made important contributions in several areas including dynamical systems theory, algebra, catastrophe theory, topology, algebraic geometry, symplectic geometry, differential equations, classical mechanics, hydrodynamics and singularity theory, including posing the ADE classification problem, since his first main result - the solution of Hilberts thirteenth problem in 1957 at the age of 19. He co-founded two new b ...


Seymour Benzer

Seymour Benzer was an American physicist, molecular biologist and behavioral geneticist. His career began during the molecular biology revolution of the 1950s, and he eventually rose to prominence in the fields of molecular and behavioral genetics. He led a productive genetics research lab both at Purdue University and as the James G. Boswell Professor of Neuroscience, Emeritus, at the California Institute of Technology.


Roger Blandford

Blandford is famous in the astrophysical community for the Blandford-Znajek process which is a model for the extraction of energy from a black hole. In April 2005 he wrote a letter to the astronomy community showing his concern about the George W. Bush administration US space science policy. He is also the chair of Astro2010, the decadal survey that helps define and recommend funding priorities for U.S. astronomy research in the upcoming decade. The Astro2010 report was released August 13, 2010.


Wallace Smith Broecker

Wallace "Wally" Smith Broecker was an American geochemist. He was the Newberry Professor in the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences at Columbia University, a scientist at Columbias Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory and a sustainability fellow at Arizona State University. He developed the idea of a global "conveyor belt" linking the circulation of the global ocean and made major contributions to the science of the carbon cycle and the use of chemical tracers and isotope dating in oceanography. Broecker popularized the term "global warming". He received the Crafoord Prize and the V ...


James Van Allen

James Alfred Van Allen was an American space scientist at the University of Iowa. He was instrumental in establishing the field of magnetospheric research in space. The Van Allen radiation belts were named after him, following their discovery by his Geiger–Muller tube instruments on the 1958 satellites during the International Geophysical Year. Van Allen led the scientific community for the inclusion of scientific research instruments on space satellites.


ⓘ Crafoord Prize

The Crafoord Prize is an annual science prize established in 1980 by Holger Crafoord, a Swedish industrialist, and his wife Anna-Greta Crafoord. The Prize is awarded in partnership between the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation in Lund. The Academy is responsible for selecting the Crafoord Laureates. The prize is awarded in four categories: astronomy and mathematics; geosciences; biosciences, with particular emphasis on ecology; and polyarthritis, the disease from which Holger severely suffered in his last years.

According to the Academy, "these disciplines are chosen so as to complement those for which the Nobel Prizes are awarded". Only one award is given each year, according to a rotating scheme – astronomy and mathematics; then geosciences; then biosciences. A Crafoord Prize in polyarthritis is only awarded when a special committee decides that substantial progress in the field has been made. The recipient of the Crafoord Prize is announced each year in mid-January; on Crafoord Days in April or May, the prize is presented by the King of Sweden, who also presents the Nobel Prizes at the ceremony in December. The prize money, which as of 2020 is 6.000.000 kr or US$625.000, is intended to fund further research by the laureate.

The inaugural laureates, Vladimir Arnold and Louis Nirenberg, were cited by the Academy for their work in the field of non-linear differential equations. The first woman to be awarded the prize was astronomer Andrea Ghez in 2012.

  • Investigator Award. 2013, Crafoord Prize Peter K. Gregersen, MD The Crafoord Prize in Polyarthritis 2013, Crafoord Prize Press Release. January 17
  • particle physics. Connes was awarded the Fields Medal in 1982, the Crafoord Prize in 2001 and the gold medal of the CNRS in 2004. He was an invited speaker
  • This prize is considered equivalent to the Nobel Prize for which there is no Biosciences category Chisholm was honored at the Crafoord Prize Symposium
  • Maini was awarded the Crafoord Prize 2003: Knighthood 2003: Albert Lasker Award for Clinical Medical Research. 2004 Fothergillian prize from the London Medical
  • Canada since 1959 Wolf Prize Israel since 1978 and Crafoord Prize Sweden since 1980 The creation of the Japan Prize was motivated by the desire
  • received, jointly with Shimon Sakaguchi and Alexander Rudensky, the Crafoord Prize for research in polyarthritis. He was cited for his discovery of regulatory
  • in 1970. He is a winner of the Crafoord Prize and a fellow of the American Geophysical Union. He won the Crafoord Prize in 2014 for discovering the driving
  • Union and the Crafoord Prize for geosciences. Some geophysicists have also won more general prizes such as the Nobel Prize and the Kyoto Prize A B C D E
  • Nobel Prizes in physics and in chemistry, the Bank of Sweden s economics prize in Alfred Nobel s memory, the Crafoord Prize the Sjoberg Prize and a number
  • Sciences. In 2010, he received the Shaw Prize in Mathematics. In 2012, he and Terence Tao received the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics from the Royal Swedish
  • Selection Committee in mathematical sciences Shaw Prize In 2016 Yakov Eliashberg was awarded the Crafoord Prize in Mathematics from the Swedish Academy of Sciences