ⓘ Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov

Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov

ⓘ Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov

Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov was a Soviet, Russian and American theoretical physicist whose main contributions are in the field of condensed matter physics. He was the co-recipient of the 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics, with Vitaly Ginzburg and Anthony James Leggett, for theories about how matter can behave at extremely low temperatures.


1. Education and early life

Abrikosov was born in Moscow, Russian SFSR, Soviet Union, on June 25, 1928, to a couple of physicians: Prof. Alexei Ivanovich Abrikosov and Dr. Fani Abrikosova, nee Wulf, a Jewish Russian physician. He graduated from Moscow State University in 1948. From 1948 to 1965, he worked at the Institute for Physical Problems of the USSR Academy of Sciences, where he received his Ph.D. in 1951 for the theory of thermal diffusion in plasmas, and then his Doctor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences a "higher doctorate" degree in 1955 for a thesis on quantum electrodynamics at high energies.


2. Career

From 1965 to 1988, he worked at the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics USSR Academy of Sciences. He has been a professor at Moscow State University since 1965. In addition, he held tenure at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology from 1972 to 1976, and at the Moscow Institute of Steel and Alloys from 1976 to 1991. He served as a full member of the USSR Academy of Sciences from 1987 to 1991. In 1991, he became a full member of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

In two works in 1952 and 1957, Abrikosov explained how magnetic flux can penetrate a class of superconductors. This class of materials are called type-II superconductors. The accompanying arrangement of magnetic flux lines is called the Abrikosov vortex lattice.

Together with Lev Gorkov and Igor Dzyaloshinskii, Abrikosov has written an iconic book on theoretical solid-state physics, which has been used to train physicists in the field for decades.

From 1991 until his retirement, he worked at Argonne National Laboratory in the U.S. state of Illinois. Abrikosov was an Argonne Distinguished Scientist at the Condensed Matter Theory Group in Argonnes Materials Science Division. When he received the Nobel Prize, his research was focused on the origins of magnetoresistance, a property of some materials that change their resistance to electrical flow under the influence of a magnetic field.


3. Honours and awards

Abrikosov was awarded the Lenin Prize in 1966, the Fritz London Memorial Prize in 1972, and the USSR State Prize in 1982. In 1989 he received the Landau Prize from the Academy of Sciences, Russia. Two years later, in 1991, Abrikosov was awarded the Sony Corporations John Bardeen Award. The same year he was elected a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He shared the 2003 Nobel Prize in Physics. He was also a member of the Royal Academy of London, a fellow of the American Physical Society, and in 2000 was elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences. Other awards include:


4. Personal life

Abrikosov was the son of the physicians Alexei Ivanovich Abrikosov 1875-1955 and Fania Davidovna Woolf 1895 - 1965.

His sister was Maria Alekseevna Abrikosova 1929-1998, physician.

He was married to Svetlana Yuriyevna Bunkova and had 3 children.

He died on 29 March 2017 at the age of 88.


5. Books

  • Abrikosov, Alexey; Gorkov, Lev; Dzyaloshinskii, Igor 1975. Methods of Quantum Field Theory in Statistical Physics. London, U.K.: Dover Publications. ISBN 978-0199232727.
  • Abrikosov, Alexey 1988. Fundamentals of the Theory of Metals. North Holland. ISBN 978-0444870940.
  • Azerbaijan Democratic Republic, Soviet Union, Azerbaijan 1918 1993 Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov - Soviet Union, Russia born 1928 Nobel laureate Robert Adler
  • Literature John Maxwell Coetzee Peace Shirin Ebadi Physics Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov Vitaly Lazarevich Ginzburg, Anthony James Leggett Physiology
  • The American Institute of Physics. Retrieved September 30, 2019. Alexei Abrikosov The Array of Contemporary American Physicists. Retrieved November
  • Physico - Technical Institute, D.Sc., 1934, without defending a dissertation Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov Institute for Physical Problems, 1951 Boris Lukiyanchuk Lebedev
  • the theory of superconductors and superfluids shared with Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov and Vitaly Lazarevich Ginzburg. 2005 Theodor W. Hansch Visiting
  • the theory of superconductors and superfluids shared with Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov and Vitaly Lazarevich Ginzburg. 2008 Yoichiro Nambu Alumnus
  • American physician Ivan Straus, Bosnian architect d. 2018 June 25 Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov Russian physicist, Nobel Prize laureate d. 2017 Michel Brault
  • Kaufmann, Austrian - born German actress b. 1945 March 29 Alexei Alexeyevich Abrikosov Russian - American Nobel theoretical physicist b. 1928 March

Users also searched:

nobel prize winners literature, nobel prize winners money,