ⓘ Cookie's Fortune

Cookie's Fortune

ⓘ Cookies Fortune

Cookies Fortune is a 1999 crime-comedy film directed by Robert Altman and starring an ensemble cast, including Glenn Close, Julianne Moore, Liv Tyler, Patricia Neal, Charles S. Dutton and Chris ODonnell.

It portrays small-town Southern life in Holly Springs, Mississippi, where the film was mostly shot. It was entered into the 49th Berlin International Film Festival, held in February 1999.


1. Plot

When Jewel-Mae "Cookie" Orcutt Neal, a small Mississippi towns wealthy dowager, tires of her widowed life, she decides to take one of her late-husband Bucks pistols from the gun cabinet and kill herself.

Her body is discovered by Camille Close, her pretentious niece, and Cora Moore, Camilles eccentrically odd and adorably shy younger sister. Camilles plan is to set the suicide up as a murder to preserve the familys reputation and then settle the two of them into their aunts mansion. The family of eccentrics is rounded out by Emma Tyler, Coras wayward outlaw daughter. Emma has a love interest in Jason ODonnell, the inept Sheriffs deputy.

The obvious suspect is Willis Dutton, Cookies handyman and cousin, who had cleaned the guns the night before Cookies death.


2. Soundtrack

Music for the film is composed by David A. Stewart. The soundtrack album was released on April 2, 1999. It features appearances by saxophonist Candy Dulfer.

  • "All Im Sayin Is This"
  • "The Cookie Jar"
  • "Emma"
  • "I Did Good Didnt I?"
  • "Camillas Prayer"
  • "Patrol Car Blues"
  • "Im Comin Home"
  • "A Good Man"
  • "Wild Women Dont Get the Blues"
  • "Hey Josie"
  • "Humming Home"
  • "A Golden Boat"
  • "Willis Is Innocent"
  • "Helios"
  • "Cookie"

All songs composed by Stewart, except "Cookie", "Camillas Prayer" and "Patrol Car Blues" composed by Dulfer and Stewart.