ⓘ Filmfare Award for Best Male Playback Singer

Filmfare Award for Best Male Playback Singer

ⓘ Filmfare Award for Best Male Playback Singer

The Filmfare Best Male Playback Singer Award is given by Indian film magazine Filmfare as a part of its annual Filmfare Awards for Hindi films, to recognise a male playback singer who has delivered an outstanding performance in a film song.

Although the Filmfare Awards started in 1954, awards for the best playback singer category started in 1959. From inception of the category through 1967, both the female and male singers used to compete for a single award, after which separate categories were created for female and male singers respectively.


1. Superlatives

Kishore Kumar won the award the maximum number of times 8 in this category, whereas Mohammad Rafi & Arijit Singh won it 6 times each. Kumar Sanu & Udit Narayan have won the award 5 times each. Mukesh has won this award four times. Mahendra Kapoor have won it thrice.

Mohammad Rafi dominated the 60s with 5 wins. Mukesh, Kishore Kumar had the highest win during 70s winning the award 3 times each. Kishore Kumar continued domination during 80s with 5 wins. Kumar Sanu dominated the 1990s with most 5 consecutive wins from 1990 to 1995. Udit Narayan, Sonu Nigam and Shaan sharing 2 awards among each other in 2000s. Arijit Singh dominated 2010s with 6 wins among them 5 consecutive wins from 2016 to 2020.

Kishore Kumar has most nomination 28 followed by Mohammad Rafi 21 and Udit Narayan 20. Sonu Nigam 16, Arijit Singh 14, Mukesh 14 & Kumar Sanu 14 are among others.

Udit Narayan holds a unique record of receiving nominations in this category in 3 different decades 1980s, 1990s and 2000s and getting award in all 3 different decades also the only singer of different origin Nepali to win 5 times till date. Arijit Singh 2016-2020 & Kumar Sanu 1991-1995 holds the record for most consecutive wins, five times in a row. Kishore Kumar won the award four times in a row from 1983 to 1986.

Mukesh is the only playback singer who won this award posthumously 1977.

Himesh Reshammiya became the first music director to win this award in 2006.

Two singers have achieved the feat of receiving all the nominations of this category in a particular year: Mohammed Rafi was the single nominee in 1969, having all the three nominations to his credit, while Kishore Kumar was the single nominee in 1985, having all the four nominations to his credit. Incidentally, Kishore Kumars all nominated songs were from a single movie, Sharaabi.