ⓘ 29th General Assembly of Newfoundland

29th General Assembly of Newfoundland

ⓘ 29th General Assembly of Newfoundland

The members of the 29th General Assembly of Newfoundland were elected in the Newfoundland general election held in June 1949. The general assembly sat from July 11, 1949 to November 3, 1951. This was the first general election held in Newfoundland since the assembly was replaced by an appointed Commission of Government in 1934. Newfoundland had joined Canadian confederation in March 1949.

The liberal party led by Joey Smallwood formed the government.

Reginald F. Sparkes served as speaker.

There were four sessions of the 29th General Assembly:

Sir albert Walsh served as Vice-Governor of Newfoundland until September 1949. Sir Leonard Outerbridge succeeded Walsh as Vice-Governor.

  • of the 1972 General Election. Won by acclamation Won by acclamation Won by acclamation no by - elections held The Newfoundland House of Assembly was
  • The 46 th Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly was summoned to meet on March 10, 2008, its members having been sworn in and elected its speaker on
  • of the party that controls the most seats in the House of Assembly The Premier is Newfoundland and Labrador s head of government, and the Queen of Canada
  • Newfoundland as a British colony and dominion, held 29 general elections for its 28 Newfoundland House of Assemblies In 1934 the Dominion of Newfoundland
  • On 4 September 1914, the 23rd General Assembly of Newfoundland passed an Act authorizing the formation of the Newfoundland Regiment. 25 January 1918, the
  • The 29th Division, known as the Incomparable Division, was an infantry division of the British Army, formed in early 1915 by combining various Regular
  • The 48 th Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly was elected on November 30, 2015. Members of the House of Assembly were sworn in December 14, 2015
  • almost 40 per cent of the province s population. St. John s is the seat of government, home to the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador and to
  • The 29th Alberta Legislative Assembly was constituted after the general election on May 5, 2015. The New Democrats, led by Rachel Notley, won a majority
  • most recently formed the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador from the 2003 general election until the 2015 general election. The party has served as
  • House of Assembly of the province of Newfoundland Canada, on May 28, 1980. It was flown for the first time on Discovery Day, June 24, 1980. The name of the
  • The first brief European contact with Newfoundland and Labrador came c. AD 1000 when the Vikings briefly settled in L Anse aux Meadows. 1497, European

Users also searched: