ⓘ 40th General Assembly of Newfoundland

40th General Assembly of Newfoundland

ⓘ 40th General Assembly of Newfoundland

The members of the 40th General Assembly of Newfoundland were elected in the Newfoundland general election held in April 1985. The general assembly sat from April 25, 1985 to March 29, 1989.

Progressive Conservative party led by Brian Peckford formed the government. Tom Rideout succeeded to Pickford as party leader and Prime Minister in March 1989.

Patrick McNicholas served as a speaker.

There were four sessions of the 40th General Assembly:

William Anthony Paddon served as Vice-Governor of Newfoundland until 1986. James McGrath was able Paddon as Vice-Governor.

  • 51st Newfoundland and Labrador general election is tentatively scheduled for October 10, 2023, and will elect members to the 50 th general assembly of Newfoundland
  • The 48 th Newfoundland and Labrador House of Assembly was elected on November 30, 2015. Members of the House of Assembly were sworn in December 14, 2015
  • On 4 September 1914, the 23rd General Assembly of Newfoundland passed an Act authorizing the formation of the Newfoundland Regiment. 25 January 1918, the
  • almost 40 per cent of the province s population. St. John s is the seat of government, home to the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador and to
  • composed 40 of the residents. Newfoundland received a colonial assembly in 1832, which was and still is referred to as the House of Assembly after a
  • most recently formed the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador from the 2003 general election until the 2015 general election. The party has served as
  • electoral district for the House of Assembly of Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada. The vast majority of the district is made up of suburban communities neighbouring
  • Memorial University of Newfoundland also known as Memorial University or MUN mʌn is a university based in St. John s, with four satellite campuses

Users also searched: