ⓘ 23rd Satellite Awards


ⓘ 23rd Satellite Awards

The 23rd Satellite Awards is an award ceremony honoring the years outstanding performers, films, television shows, home videos and interactive media, presented by the International Press Academy.

The nominations were announced on November 28, 2018. The winners were announced on January 3, 2019, and the ceremony was held on February 22, 2019.

For this cycle of the Satellite Awards, the categories Best Film, Best Actor, and Best Actress were split into Drama and Comedy/Musical categories. Previously, they had been joined in one category since the 16th ceremony in 2011.


1. Special achievement awards

Auteur Award for singular vision and unique artistic control over the elements of production – Ryan Coogler

Mary Pickford Award for outstanding contribution to the entertainment industry – Rade Serbedzija

Nikola Tesla Award for visionary achievement in filmmaking technology – Kevin Baillie

Best First Feature – Rupert Everett The Happy Prince

Ensemble: Motion Picture – The Favourite

Ensemble: Television – The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story