ⓘ 21st Academy Awards


ⓘ 21st Academy Awards

The 21st Academy Awards features numerous firsts. It was the first time a non-Hollywood production won Best Picture, Hamlet and the first time an individual directed himself in an Oscar-winning performance.

It was the first Academy Awards ceremony to be giving awards for Best Costume Design.

John Huston directed two films in this awards year for which his actors won Oscars: his father, Walter Huston, in The Treasure of the Sierra Madre ; and Claire Trevor for Key Largo. The Huston family won three Oscars that evening.

The ceremony was moved from the Shrine Auditorium to the Academys own theater, primarily because the major Hollywood studios had withdrawn their financial support in order to address rumors that they had been trying to influence voters.

Humphrey Bogart failed to receive a nomination for Best Actor in The Treasure of the Sierra Madre, eventually considered one of the Academy’s greatest slights.

Joan of Arc set a record by receiving seven nominations without being nominated for Best Picture; this stood until They Shoot Horses, Dont They? 1969 received nine nominations at the 42nd Academy Awards without Best Picture.

Hamlet became the fifth film to win Best Picture without a screenwriting nomination; the next to do so would be The Sound of Music at the 38th Academy Awards. Jane Wyman became the first performer since the silent era to win an Oscar for a performance with no lines; Johnny Belinda became the fourth film to receive nominations in all four acting categories.

I Remember Mama received four acting nominations but not one for Best Picture, tying the record set by My Man Godfrey in 1936. Two more films would also tie this record: Othello 1965 and Doubt 2008.


1.1. Awards Academy Honorary Awards

  • Sid Grauman "master showman, who raised the standard of exhibition of motion pictures".
  • Walter Wanger "for distinguished service to the industry in adding to its moral stature in the world community by his production of the picture Joan of Arc ".
  • Adolph Zukor "a man who has been called the father of the feature film in America, for his services to the industry over a period of forty years".

1.2. Awards Scientific or Technical

Class II

  • Nick Kalten, Louis J. Witt and the Twentieth Century-Fox Studio Mechanical Effects Department for a process of preserving and flame-proofing foliage
  • Victor Caccialanza, Maurice Ayers and the Paramount Studio Set Construction Department for the development and the application of "Paralite", a new lightweight plaster process for set construction

Class III

  • Marty Martin, Jack Lannon, Russell Shearman and the RKO Radio Studio Special Effects Department; A.J. Moran and the Warner Bros. Studio Electrical Department

2. Presenters

  • Loretta Young Presenter: Best Actor
  • Elizabeth Taylor Presenter: Best Costume Design
  • Ava Gardner Presenter: Documentary Awards
  • Ethel Barrymore Presenter: Best Motion Picture
  • Ronald Colman Presenter: Best Actress
  • Edmund Gwenn Presenter: Best Supporting Actress
  • Kathryn Grayson Presenter: Music Awards
  • Jeanne Crain Presenter: Short Subject Awards
  • Celeste Holm Presenter: Best Supporting Actor
  • Deborah Kerr Presenter: Writing Awards
  • Robert Ryan Presenter: Best Cinematography
  • Arlene Dahl Presenter: Best Art Direction
  • Glenn Ford Presenter: Best Special Effects
  • Wendell Corey Presenter: Best Film Editing
  • George Murphy Presenter: Scientific & Technical Awards
  • Frank Borzage Presenter: Best Director
  • Louis Jourdan Presenter: Best Foreign Film
  • Jean Hersholt Presenter: Honorary Awards
  • Ann Blyth Presenter: Best Sound Recording


3. Performers

  • Jane Russell "Buttons and Bows" from The Paleface
  • Harry Babbitt and Gloria Wood "The Woody Woodpecker Song"
  • Doris Day "Its Magic" from Romance on the High Seas
  • Jo Stafford "This Is the Moment" from That Lady in Ermine
  • Gordon MacRae "For Every Man Theres a Woman" from Casbah