ⓘ Gerd Faltings

Gerd Faltings

ⓘ Gerd Faltings

In 1981 he obtained the venia legendi Habilitation in mathematics, both from the University of Munster. During this time he was an assistant professor at the University of Munster. From 1982 to 1984, he was professor at the University of Wuppertal.

From 1985 to 1994, he was professor at Princeton University. In the fall of 1988 and in the academic year 1992–1993 he was a visiting scholar at the Institute for Advanced Study.

In 1986 he was awarded the Fields Medal at the ICM at Berkeley for proving the Tate conjecture for abelian varieties over number fields, the Shafarevich conjecture for abelian varieties over number fields and the Mordell conjecture, which states that any non-singular projective curve of genus g > 1 defined over a number field K contains only finitely many K -rational points. As a Fields Medalist he gave an ICM plenary talk Recent progress in arithmetic algebraic geometry.

In 1994 as an ICM invited speaker in Zurich he gave a talk Mumford-Stabilitat in der algebraischen Geometrie. Extending methods of Paul Vojta, he proved the Mordell–Lang conjecture, which is a generalization of the Mordell conjecture. Together with Gisbert Wustholz, he reproved Roths theorem, for which Roth had been awarded the Fields medal in 1958.

In 1994, he returned to Germany and from 1994 to 2018, he was a director of the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in Bonn. In 1996, he received the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, which is the highest honour awarded in German research.

Faltings was the formal supervisor of Shinichi Mochizuki, Wieslawa Niziol, Nikolai Dourov.


1. Awards and honours

  • National Academy of Sciences foreign associate 2018
  • Shaw Prize 2015
  • Fields Medal 1986
  • Cantor Medal 2017
  • Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 1996
  • Guggenheim Fellowship 1988/89
  • Foreign Member of the Royal Society 2016
  • King Faisal International Prize 2014