ⓘ Filmfare Award for Best Actor

Filmfare Award for Best Actor

ⓘ Filmfare Award for Best Actor

The Filmfare Award awards for Best Actor is an award, begun in 1954, presented annually at the Filmfare Awards to an actor via a jury. This is given by Filmfare as part of its annual Filmfare Awards for Hindi films. The award was first given in 1954. As of 2020, Dilip Kumar and Shah Rukh Khan lead the list, with eight wins each.


1. Superlatives

  • Three actors were nominated for both these awards, Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor, for the same performance: Raaj Kumar for Kaajal 1966, Ashok Kumar for Aashirwad 1970 and Kamal Haasan for Saagar 1986. On both occasions, Ashok Kumar and Kamal Haasan won the Best Actor award and Raaj Kumar won the Best Supporting Actor award.
  • Amitabh Bachchan and Shah Rukh Khan hold the record for the highest number of Best Actor nominations in a single year. Amitabh Bachchan has been nominated thrice in 1979 and 1983 and Shah Rukh Khan in 2005.
  • Dilip Kumar also holds the record for most consecutive wins, having won the award for three years in a row from 1956 to 1958. Six other actors have won the award in consecutive years; in chronological order, they are Rajesh Khanna 1971–72, Sanjeev Kumar 1976–77, Amitabh Bachchan 1978–79, Naseeruddin Shah 1981–82, Shah Rukh Khan 1998–99, and Ranbir Kapoor 2012–13.
  • Devdas is the only character to win most number of Best Actor awards. Both Dilip Kumar and Shah Rukh Khan won for portraying the titular character in Devdas and Devdas, respectively in 1956 and in 2003.
  • Aamir Khan has the highest number of consecutive nominations, having been nominated for the Award every year from 1989 till 1997, eventually winning in the 9th consecutive nomination for Raja Hindustani 1997. Followed by Amitabh Bachchan being nominated consecutive eight times from 1976 to 1983 having total 15 nominations and winning the award twice in 1978 and 1979.
  • Amitabh Bachchan holds a unique record of receiving nominations in this category in five different decades and getting an award in four different decades.
  • Three actors have won the award for their debut performances: Rishi Kapoor for Bobby 1974, Anupam Kher for Saaransh 1985 and Hrithik Roshan for Kaho Naa. Pyaar Hai 2001. Other actors who got nominated in this category for their debut performances are Sunny Deol for Betaab 1984 and Darsheel Safary for Taare Zameen Par 2008.
  • Darsheel Safary became the youngest Best Actor nominee in the history of Filmfare at the age of 11. Rishi Kapoor became the youngest winner of Best Actor award at the age of 21.
  • Dilip Kumar achieved supremacy in the 1950s with four wins and continued domination in the 1960s with three wins. Rajesh Khanna took over in the 1970s with three wins. Naseeruddin Shah emerged successful in the 1980s with three wins. Shah Rukh Khan garnered triumph with four wins in the 1990s. Hrithik Roshan had four wins in the 2000s. Ranbir Kapoor led the 2010s with three wins to his credit.
  • Hrithik Roshan, Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan are the only actors to be nominated twice for the same role. Hrithik Roshan achieved this feat twice in the Krrish franchise; he was nominated for his role as Krishna Mehra in 2007 and 2014, and for his role as Rohit Mehra in 2004 and 2014 he won in 2004. Shah Rukh Khan was nominated in 2007 and 2012 for his portrayal of the titular character in Don and Salman Khan was nominated in 2011 and 2013 for his role as Chulbul Pandey in Dabangg and Dabangg 2 respectively.
  • Ten actors have won the Best Actor award in both the Popular and Critics categories; in chronological order they are; Anupam Kher, Shah Rukh Khan, Anil Kapoor, Amitabh Bachchan, Hrithik Roshan, Aamir Khan, Ranbir Kapoor, Rishi Kapoor, Shahid Kapoor, Irrfan Khan and Ranveer Singh.
  • Dilip Kumar and Shah Rukh Khan, with eight wins, have more Best Actor awards than any other actor. Amitabh Bachchan has five wins, Hrithik Roshan has four wins, Rajesh Khanna, Naseeruddin Shah, Aamir Khan and Ranbir Kapoor have three wins each. Seven actors have won the award twice; in chronological order, they are:Raj Kapoor, Sunil Dutt, Dev Anand, Ashok Kumar, Sanjeev Kumar, Anil Kapoor and Ranveer Singh.
  • Ranbir Kapoor is the only actor to win a Best Actor award for portraying a real Best Actor winner. He won in 2019 for portraying Sanjay Dutt in Sanju.
  • Dilip Kumar, Amitabh Bachchan and Shah Rukh Khan are the most awarded actors in the overall acting categories, with eight awards each: Dilip Kumar and Shah Rukh Khan are the winners of eight Best Actor awards, and Amitabh Bachchan is the winner of five Best Actor awards and three Best Supporting Actor awards. Amitabh Bachchan is the most nominated actor in any major acting category at Filmfare, with 41 nominations overall.
  • Actors who won both these Best Actor awards Popular and Critics in the same year are Shah Rukh Khan 1994, Hrithik Roshan 2004, Amitabh Bachchan 2006 and Ranbir Kapoor 2012.
  • Actors who have won both Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor awards include Ashok Kumar, Sanjeev Kumar, Amitabh Bachchan, Shammi Kapoor, Anil Kapoor, Anupam Kher, Sunny Deol, Jackie Shroff, Nana Patekar, Farhan Akhtar, Rishi Kapoor and Irrfan Khan.

2. Multiple nominees

  • 14 Nominations: Rajesh Khanna, Hrithik Roshan
  • 18 Nominations: Dilip Kumar
  • 25 Nominations: Shah Rukh Khan
  • 8 Nominations: Anil Kapoor, Ranbir Kapoor
  • 32 Nominations: Amitabh Bachchan
  • 19 Nominations: Aamir Khan
  • 7 Nominations: Akshay Kumar
  • 11 Nominations: Sanjeev Kumar, Salman Khan

3. Multiple winners

  • 8 Wins: Dilip Kumar, Shah Rukh Khan
  • 5 Wins: Amitabh Bachchan
  • 3 Wins: Rajesh Khanna, Naseeruddin Shah, Aamir Khan, Ranbir Kapoor
  • 4 Wins: Hrithik Roshan
  • 2 Wins: Dev Anand, Raj Kapoor, Ashok Kumar, Sunil Dutt, Sanjeev Kumar, Anil Kapoor, Ranveer Singh